Lughnasadh

In case you missed it, the Celtic holiday of Lughnasadh arrived on August 1st.  This ancient harvest festival celebrated the bounty of the summer and acknowledged that the hot, sunny days would soon be over.  (The Christian religion would later adopt this celebration and re-name it Lammas.)

The Celtic traditions appeal to me because I like the idea of life as a circle or wheel.  What comes around, goes around.  What you sow is what you reap.  Don’t get me wrong; there certainly are times when I wish that life was a straight line, and I could put some stuff behind me forever.  But all in all, it’s kind of nice that we get second chances.  And third, and fourth, and . . . .

At any rate, Lughnasadh got me thinking on sowing and reaping, and on what bounties I am able to enjoy now because of it.  I know that sometimes I get so focused on just the hard work part that I forget that it’s okay to have some fun too.

So, maybe consider taking a moment to reflect on all your hard work and see how far you’ve come.  Celebrate your bounties!  And relish and appreciate the next turn of the wheel that will ask you to do it all over again.

Leave a Reply

