New Year’s Resolutions

Calvin & Hobbes

It’s only December 10th, but already I’m thinking about New Year’s Resolutions.  For most of my adult life, I have written out my resolutions every year and then carried the list around with me in my handbag.  I take my resolutions seriously, and this year is no exception.  I think I have good company in saying that I am really ready to put 2012 in the rearview mirror.

Several years ago, I came up with an astrological way to write out my resolutions.  I write one resolution per zodiacal sign, so I end up with twelve goals for the year.  Each zodiacal sign has a general theme, and put together, they cover just about every area of life.  Here are the general symbolic meanings for each sign:

ARIES–assertiveness, identity, expressing the self

TAURUS–security, patience, material things

GEMINI–communication, versatility, adaptability

CANCER–emotions, motherhood, connection, the home

LEO–creativity, generosity, heart, playfulness

VIRGO–efficiency, organization, public service, humility

LIBRA–balance, harmony, diplomacy, relationships

SCORPIO–passion, transformation, power

SAGITTARIUS–higher learning, meaning of life, adventure, travel

CAPRICORN–authority, structure, discipline

AQUARIUS–groups, society, friends, reform

PISCES–forgiveness, spirituality, compassion, dreams

So, with this list in hand, I write one resolution or goal based on each theme.  For example, I might come up with a Cancer Resolution of “focusing on being a great mother and making a warm, happy home for my child.”  Or I could write a Virgo Resolution of “giving at least one day of volunteer service per month.”

Do you write resolutions?  If so, how do you choose them?

 

2 responses

  1. Aimee, you have presented some good thinking and intentions with a goal. I never thought of the using the zodiacal signs with the new year resolutions. I like to reflect on the resolutions spiritually or with my faith,and keep seeking it throughout the year.

Leave a Reply

