Downtime

I’ve noticed that inspiration and growth often occurs when you least expect it.  For me, when a dilemma or “stuckness” presents itself, I tend to approach it by working my buns off, wrestling with it, studying, thinking, wrestling some more.  Then, when I’ve taken a breather and I’m just sitting still and spacing out, the solution just pops into my head.  It’s as if all the information I’ve gathered has spun around in the ole cranial Vitamixer, and then when I press the Off Button, voila!  I’ve got something yummy and useable.

In the bigger picture, winter represents this downtime, I think.  We all need a little space to rest, recoup, process.  I found this quote by Brenda Ueland which seems to illustrates my point:

“Inspiration does not come like a bolt, nor is it kinetic energy striving, but it comes to us slowly and quietly and all the time.”

To everything there is a season, right?  Learning to enjoy all the seasons here. . . .

 

 

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

