Ye Olde Friday Fun

On this date in 1389, Geoffrey Chaucer was named chief clerk for King Richard II.

In college, we English majors had to memorize the first 20 lines of the Canterbury Tales.  I can still recall it to this day:  Whan that Aprille with his shoures soote the droughte of Marche hath perced to the roote . . . .   Sometimes bawdy, sometimes irreverent, always entertaining, Chaucer’s tale of a pilgrimage to the shrine of Thomas a Becket in Canterbury showed a cross section of the social classes:  nobles, peasants, clergy.

For today’s writing prompt,   write the opening paragraph of your pilgrimage tale.  Introduce some of your characters and describe their destination.  Set the tone for an epic road trip!

Happy Writing!

6 responses

  1. Far. That’s what I thought. A husband far away at war, kids far away even at the dinner table. And now, land as far as the eye can absorb, and I have no idea where to go. I’m away from what I know and the horses won’t budge. And it’s too late to turn back. It’s too far.

      • And yet I have 21 drafts unfinished because I can’t get it together enough to finish them. Maybe I can do something with it although I’m sure anxiety will kick in and I’ll let it go idle, too. Thanks for the encouragement, these are a bunch of fun!

      • Glad you like them! But you really should get going on those drafts, girl! Do you have a critique group you could join? Or even start your own writing group! That’s been a big help to me. The four of us in my writing group meet once a month, plus email stuff to each other. The feedback has been so helpful! Keep writing!

  2. No critique group, I’m tough enough on myself as it is. I decided early on that the blog wouldn’t just be about music and I’m just starting to settle in and get comfortable enough that I think I can branch out a little at a time. I need to sit down and start adding in a few things and tightening up the drafts. A fellow blogger tagged mine in a post about how I spend my free time and in turn, I posted and tagged you. I thought it looked like fun and a cool way to share something different. If you don’t want to, it okay, but I hope it will bring some new followers to your awesome blog.

Leave a Reply

